Gertrude Candiru and Immaculate Nakisuyi Named on The ICC Women's Global Development Squad

Gertrude Candiru and Immaculate Nakisuyi Named on The ICC Women's Global Development Squad

All rounder Gertrude Candiru the MVP at the African Women's Qualifiers last year in Namibia and Immaculate Nakisuyi have been selected from the lady cricket cranes squad as part of the ICC women's development squad that will play the ECB super league teams after the global qualifiers in Netherlands.

In a statement released by the ICC announcing the schedule of the women's qualifiers in Netherlands in July, the two ladies will join 11 other players selected from the other nations taking part in the qualifiers. 

The two players were key in helping the lady cricket cranes qualify for the global qualifiers and this is opportunity is a testament to their great performances. The statement released by the ICC read as follows 

“We’re hopeful that a Global Development Team – playing five games against some of our Super League teams immediately after the ICC World T20 Qualifiers – can offer those players representing the Associate Members those opportunities. We are looking forward to welcoming a diverse playing squad, representing countries as far-reaching as Uganda, Papua New Guinea and Bangladesh, as well as several of our European neighbours.”

Gertrude and Immaculate will link up with their new teammates after the qualifiers in Netherlands and will get an opportunity to compete with the best players in the world who feature for teams in the ECB super league. They will play five games against sides such as Surrey Stars, Loughborough Lightnin and the Western Storm. 

This opportunity can open doors for both players and other future players who will feature for the lady cricket cranes side through some memorable performances. 

The Women’s Global Development Squad: Jahanara Alam, Khadiza-Tul Kubra, Rumana Ahmed (all Bangladesh); Gaby Lewis, Lucy O’Reilly (both Ireland); Sterre Kalis and Heather Siegers (both Netherlands); Kaia Arua and Ravini Oa (both PNG); Gertrude Candiru and Immaculate Nakisuyi (both Uganda); Sarah Bryce (Scotland); Esha Oza (UAE). Head coach: Sean Trouw; Mentor Coach: Mark Lane