Uganda Name Squad For The Ladies T20 Global Qualifiers In Netherlands

Uganda Name Squad For The Ladies T20 Global Qualifiers In Netherlands

Uganda have named their squad for the Ladies T20 Global Qualifiers in Netherlands next month. There are no major change from the team that saw off stiff competition to gain qualification in Namibia last year. 

The only new player from the side that gained qualification in Namibia is Pricco Nakitende who replaces Naomi Kayondo who was unavailable for selection due to studies. Wicket keeper Kevin Awino will lead the side and will be assisted by Janet Mbabazi. 

At the Global qualifiers the the lady cricket cranes will be facing sterner opposition, with two test playing nations Ireland and Bangladesh the top sides in the eight nation tournament. 

Team Uganda will start their group B campaign against Scotland on the 7th, then take on Thailand on the 8th and round up the group with Ireland on the 10th. 

The top two sides after the round robin event will earn themselves a ticket the main world cup to be played in the Westindies later in the year. 

Squad in full

1. Kevin Awino (Captain),

2. Janet Mbabazi,

3. Rachael Ntono,

4. Mary Nalule,

5. Gertrude Candiru,

6. Immaculate Nakisuyi,

7. Rita Musamali,

8. Franklyn Najjumba,

9. Stephanie Nampiina,

10. Consy Aweko,

11. Pricco Nakitende,

12. Saidat Kemigisha,

13. Carol Namugenyi,

14. Joyce-Mary Apio.


1. Evelyn Anyipo 

2. Irene Alumo



Francis Ndege Otieno (HeaD Coach) and Grace Godfrey Mutyagaba (Assistant)



Lydia Bakumpe Namirimo