Unimoni National T20 Cup - Avengers And Strikers Win At The Lakeside Oval

Unimoni National T20 Cup - Avengers And Strikers Win At The Lakeside Oval

Morning game: 9:30 AM- SKLPS vs AVENGERS

Avengers 66/5 in 10 overs (Utkarsh Kothari 21 Off 14, Meghji Kara 2/4 in 2 overs) beat SKPLS 63/7 (Shashi Kerai 24 off 24, Harish Patel 3/7 in 2 overs) in 10 overs by 5 wickets.

Unimoni player of match: Harish Patel

With just 10 overs to play, SKLPS won the toss and chose to bat first. Shashi Kerai and Yogesh Rabadiya 5(3) opened the batting for SKLPS. Girish Nasta grabbed an early breakthrough for avengers getting Yogesh caught behind (wicket keeper Umer Waseem). Avengers struggled to build effective partnerships as Harish Patel ripped through the batting line-up with support from Chandrish Bhatt and Kush Vekaria who piled as much dot balls as possible in a game where dot-balls were not at all desired. Only Dipak Limbani got to double figures 10(10) after Utkarsh’s dismissal as the other collapsed dramatically and left SKLPS struggling ending on a mere 63 with 7 wickets lost.

Sklps threatened to defend their score as they kept the pressure on avengers till the last over. Yash Bhat 11(14) opened the batting with Hamza Mehmood 0(1) the latter falling to Megji Kara. Dipak Limbani struck back against Yash Bhatt. Meghji Kara applied much pressure gathering dot-balls and with the pressure mounted, he claimed 2 more wickets shortly. Utkarsh Kothari held his nerve getting a tactical 21 that sealed the victory for avengers in the last over ending on 66 with 5 wickets lost in the chase.

Afternoon match- 3:00 PM: STRIKERS VS SKPLS

STRIKERS CC 159/8 In 20 Overs (Rogers Olipa 52 Off 35, Ivan Thawithemwira 38 Off 36, Derrick Bakunzi 30 Off 14 Yogesh Rabadiya 2/34 In 4 Overs) Beat SKLPS 81/10 In 19.3 Overs ( Yogesh Rabadiya 23 Off 18, Ivan Thawi 3/13 In 1.3 Overs, Richard Agamire 2/14 In 3 Overs)

Unimoni player of match: Rogers Olipa

Strikers won the toss and chose to bat first. Zephania Arinaitwe 10(9) and Perry Wazombe 14(12) opened the batting for strikers. Both openers struggled to score against the opening bowlers ( failure to judge the swing of the ball) and shortly both were dismissed. Meghji Kara claimed the first wicket (Zephania bowled) while Kishan Hirani claimed Perry ( caught by Dipak Limbani). Ivan Thawithemwira and rogers Olipa carried on with the necessary momentum ( Olipa played the aggressor while ivan thawi backed up) putting on a 70-run partnership.

Vijay Halai struck twice ( first wicket picking Ivan Thawi caught) and the second came shortly ( picking frank Akankwasa at number 5 for a duck). Derrick Bakunzi stood out for strikers in the mid-order with a blitz 30 off just 14 balls (including 4 boundaries and 2 maximums ) before Yogesh Rabadiya returned to pick 2 more leaving strikers at 159 in their 20 overs for the loss of 8 wickets.

A fiery bowling spell from Richard Agamire denied SKLPS opportunity to score as he struck twice in the first over dismissing both openers (Ajay Hirani and Shashi Kerai for 0). Aloysius Odoi came into the mix (claimed the third wicket) with no run on board for SKLPS (off the bat). SKLPS’ mid-order struggled to establish partnerships but all being short-lived as Sirajje Nsubuga and Ivan Thawi applied the pressure amidst the tight fielding denying batsmen freedom to execute scoring shots. Sirajje Nsubuga (2/16 in 4 overs) grabbed two crucial wickets (dismissed Yogesh R and Ramesh G) who had offered some resistance in the middle. Ivan Thawi combined with spinner Perry Wazombe(2/1 in 1 over) to sweep through the tail restricting SKLPS to a mere 81.