Lady Cricket Cranes Leave for Series in Zimbabwe

Lady Cricket Cranes Leave for Series in Zimbabwe

The Lady Cricket Cranes were flagged off by NCS Assistant General Secretary David Katende on Friday morning for the series in Zimbabwe. The 14 ladies and 4 officials left late last night aboard Rwanda Air for Zimbabwe where they will face Tanzania, Namibia and hosts Zimbabwe in a t20 series. 

The African Champions are preparing for the Global World Cup Qualifiers due in early July where they will seek to finish among the top 2 nations and qualify for the ladies t20 world cup. They will face two test nations in Ireland and Bangladesh plus four other regional winners for a shot at the t20 ladies world cup due later in the year in the Westindies. 

In Zimbabwe they will play a round robin format which will see the ladies playing 6 t20 games. The side is led by Kevin Awino and she will assisted by Janet Mbabazi. This is the second build up tour the ladies are having after they white washed hosts Tanzania in their first build up tour in January, MVP Gertrude Chandiru, bowlers Carol Namugenyi and Joyce Mary Apio missed the Tanzania tour but are all back in the side as coaches Francis Otieno and Grace Mutyagaba fine tune their team. All rounder Prico Nakitende is the only new player in side who was not part of the winning team team in Namibia and Tanzania.

The Lady Cricket Cranes shocked favorites Zimbabwe in the final last year in Namibia to earn themselves the tag of African Champions and also earn themselves a place at the global qualifiers in Netherlands. 

The full 14 Ladies Squad 

1. Kevin Awino 

2. Janet Mbabazi

3. Gertrude Candiru

4. Rachel Ntono

5. Consy Aweko

6. Carol Namugenyi

7. Franklyn Najjumba 

8. Saidat Kemigisha 

9. Mary Nalule

10. Rita Musamali 

11. Stephanie Nampiina

12. Immaculate Nakisuyi

13. Joyce Mary Apio

14. Prico Nakitende 


1. Francis Otieno (Coach)

2. Grace Mutyagaba (Assistant Coach)

3. Lydia Bakumpe (Team Manager)

4. Mary Nanderenga (Head of Delegation)